A week in verbs (2)

This is one of those weeks where I’m not really sure where I’ve spent my time. So for my week in verbs I:

  • gardened. This was mostly of the sorting out garden rubbish variety, but it was nice to enjoy some evening sunshine and spend some time with the plants.
  • continued the gardening theme and went to the cinema to see A Little Chaos, about landscape gardening in 17th century France. Certainly not the best film, nevertheless I rather enjoyed it and the costumes were fabulous. Disappointingly little actual gardening though, especially from the official film  of National Gardening Week (yes really).
  • read Swimming Home by Deborah Levy. It took me a while to get into (and it isn’t a long book), but does contain some beautiful prose. I haven’t been able to decide on a next book though.
  • watched Hinterland. I’d heard that a new episode had been shown in Wales over Easter and so was pleased to discover it as availble more widely on iPlayer. I don’t think I can think of another series where the scenery is so breathtaking but unremittingly bleak; almost everything is in a (picturesque) state of decay.  Watch it before it goes away!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

